Comfort in a Can

I hit rock bottom today.

Not only did I have Kraft Macaroni & Cheese for lunch, but I also just finished off a can of Chef Boyardee ravioli for dinner.

ravioliI know you’re about to puke and leave my blog thinking I’ve got the worst palate on God’s green Earth. But I have to admit it. I LOVE Chef Boyardee Ravioli–particularly, Mini Ravioli. You may find it disgusting and processed and all that crap, but hey! It reminds me of my childhood. I feel like a blanket is wrapping around me with every bite into those tomatoey pillows. I chase it down with a chilled glass of skim milk, too, which makes it even better (I know it’s gross–you don’t have to tell me).

With chaos all around us, people are finding comfort in food. This is no shock. It happened after 9/11, and it’s all the rage now. Comfort food is pictured in the spreads of foodie publications, and so many of the women’s magazines are boasting recipes for macaroni and cheese, mashed potatoes, casseroles, Crock Pot dinners and the like. Makes you feel like you’re in a food coma, doesn’t it?

Have you turned to your favorite food for comfort lately? C’mon and tell us about it!

Leave a Reply

