Get Thee a UPiC: A Salute to My Unemployed Partner-in-Crime

I’ve only mentioned my UPiC once on the blog, but I have to give her a proper shout-out. Don’t know if I would have survived the last two months of joblessness without her.

Some days, we’re the only people each of us sees. We drink cheap red wine and Coors Light at home together while watching “The Office” reruns on TBS, we take lunch breaks to the cheap Mexican joint when we have a little extra cash and we brainstorm all sorts of  ridiculous ideas for earning money. We keep tabs on each other throughout the day via email and cell in order to squash any insecure or nervy feelings you get from having no job and no money.

All this may sound a little needy, but it’s needy in the best possible way. You’d be shocked how much you need to vent when you’re out of work.

If you don’t have a UPiC, I suggest you find one. Now. Go on Twitter, Facebook, LinkedIn; attend a MeetUp group for job seekers, randomly poll people at Starbucks, whatever. I met a couple of fellow unemployed girls for coffee on Wednesday morning, and it was so therapeutic. Whaddya know? I’m not crazy after all!

Thanks, UPiC. You’re the best!

5 responses to “Get Thee a UPiC: A Salute to My Unemployed Partner-in-Crime

  1. Your welcome Miss Pink Slip. Gonna miss you and hope I can stay on track doing it by myself now!!!

  2. Hey–let’s not count our chickens just yet.

  3. The 405 Club is all about commiserating to get through this tough time… join us! lol.

    Secondly, I really think you’ll like this tee: http://www.zazzle.com/is_my_pink_slip_showing_tshirt-235479761151169298

  4. LOVE it! You and Miss UPiC are a dynamic duo. Wonder Twin powers….activate!

  5. I was just looking for this info for a while. After six hours of continuous Googleing, finally I got it in your web site. I wonder what’s the lack of Google strategy that don’t rank this kind of informative sites in top of the list. Usually the top web sites are full of garbage.

Leave a Reply

