Spring Got You Itching to Shop?

hm_spring_2009_shopping_shop_times1I know that with Spring’s arrival, I have been climbing the walls wanting to shop for bright, colorful summer dresses, shoes and strappy tops. I am dying to debut a fresh look. I also know that I’ve got no dough.

Soooo…I’m getting creative. Here are five solutions I’m employing this season. I hope they’re helpful.

  1. Find a cheap, but reliable seamstress– I’ve got several quality summer jackets and dresses that just aren’t fitting right (ok–I’ve lost some weight…in my boobs! I mean, c’mon!). Instead of buying new ones, I’m taking them downstairs to the tailor for a little nip and tuck. You could also replace buttons, remove sleeves, create capris, etc. Get creative! Yes, you’re spending money, but not as much as you would buying brand new togs.
  2. Invite a friend or two over for a fashion show – Grab some cheap wine, gather some friends and get a fresh perspective on how you can mix-and-match and restyle what you already have. Who knows–the wine could spark some spunky ideas, and your friends may emerge with one of your cast-offs to give it new life. Recycling at its finest.
  3. Visit discount stores for fun, inexpensive accessoriesH&M, Target, Kohl’s, Wal-Mart, Loehmann’s–all have fun earrings, necklaces, belts and scarves that can make any outfit look completely different.
  4. Invest in one or two clothing items so you feel like you’re injecting a little newness – I’ve got my eye on $29.50 white jeans from Old Navy and am searching for black cigarette pants. If you find any, give me a shout!
  5. Don’t forget your head– Surely, you have a hair cut or trim scheduled sometime soon. New bangs or some layers can do wonders and freshen your whole image. I’ve always said your hair is your best accessory, so pay attention to it. Even if you’re scraping by, look into student nights at five-star salons or visit your local hair school. My UPiC (unemployed partner in crime) went to the local Aveda school and got a fabulous trim for $20! You don’t have to pick up scissors, either. Drag out that curling or straightening iron collecting dust and experiment with some new looks. Got hair elastics, headbands and barrettes lying around? Try figuring out how they can star in your new styles. 

For more great ideas, visit my friend The Broke Socialite.

Also, if you’ve got good suggestions of your own, please share them with us!

(photo: H&M)

Leave a Reply

