10 Reasons I Think “How I Met Your Mother” Is Better Than “Friends”

himym-11

I know this has nothing to do with the economy, layoffs, pink slips or surviving the recession. However, for me, TV is a very important escape tactic, so I think it’s relevant to comment on it. 🙂

I never gave “How I Met Your Mother” a snowball’s chance in hell on CBS. But, what do I know? Now it’s syndicated! And it’s on Lifetime. Which is why I’ve started watching it. And I love it! Maybe it’s because I’m sooooo tired of “Friends” re-runs, but darn it, I’m going to go ahead and say it. I think I like “How I Met Your Mother” more than “Friends”.

With that, I give you 10 Reasons I Think “HIMYM” is Better Than “Friends”. Feel free to disagree!

  1. They hang out in bars. I mean, c’mon: Coffee all the time? Boring! There’s a reason you don’t go to happy hour at a coffee house
  2. NYC apartments are shown realistically to scale
  3. Marshall and Lily not nearly as annoying as Ross and Rachel
  4. They all have real jobs
  5. Speaking of jobs, at least HIMYM has given Bob Saget a regular paycheck
  6. Jason Segel. I admit I began developing a crush on him before “I Love You, Man” released
  7. I hung out with people just like them when I lived in NYC and would willingly choose hang out with them again. Unlike Joey Tribbiani and Phoebe Buffay. Yes, I know they’re funny, but day after day with a guido and flighty masseuse would drive me batty
  8. High fives and fist bumps
  9. They actually ride the subway

Wait for it, wait for it…

     10. Barney. ‘Nuff said (have you seen the new book, The Bro Code? Hilarious).

53 responses to “10 Reasons I Think “How I Met Your Mother” Is Better Than “Friends”

  1. I think you’re absolutely right. You don’t have to watch a sitcom just to laugh. I mean, I know it’s just a sitcom, but I feel that there’s more heart in HIMYM. Also, I think HIMYM is more realistic: the whole destiny thing and having trouble with jobs and dating and family and decisions in life and everything. Unlike in HIMYM, I feel like when a problem opens up in Friends, well, it never closes. It lasts for a whole episode and then when you watch the next episode you never even get to see the resolution. I find that quite unsettling. I have both watched Friends and HIMYM, and there are just more episodes in HIMYM that stick not only into my mind, but also my heart. Sometimes, I feel like Friends is just up to make people laugh, and not really to show them a realistic view on life. But I must admit, Friends is funnier than HIMYM. Well, all I know is that I love them both and that this is my opinion just like everything you guys said here.

  2. Anonymous Gal

    Like what YouTube user LittleRachiiee said, this video describes everything that I love (and everything that I think is better) about HIMYM: humor and heart. Watch it and see what I mean. But don’t get me wrong, I love both Friends and HIMYM, I just prefer the latter.

Leave a Reply

