Why the Weekend Matters

I’m ready for 5 o’ clock. In fact, I’m counting exactly 15 min. until that golden hour. It’s not like I’ve had a stressful week or anything (even though I did turn 35 yesterday); I’m just ready to leap into that magic wardrobe that’s called the weekend.

Even when I was unemployed, I treated the weekend like it was an actual working person’s weekend. Granted, I did do some job searching, research, etc. on Saturdays and Sundays, but mostly, I behaved like I did when I was gainfully employed. That means having cheap wine with the girls, watching Lifetime for hours and taking walks with my canine BFF. These actions may sound superficial, but for my psyche and spirit, they were necessary. I actually felt alive rather than a depressed human database of job listings.

So, if you’re unemployed and on the job hunt, please try to take some time to decompress and join the living out there this weekend. Hopefully, there’s some sunshine to soak in and a $2 beer to drink.

One response to “Why the Weekend Matters

  1. Amen! I’m unemployed, and I still look forward to the weekend. Looking for a job is a full time job. Just erasing all expectations that the phone will ring and you’ll have a job offer or an interview opp takes the pressure off because no one is calling you about a job on Sat. or Sun.

Leave a Reply

