Nice Girls Finish First. Book It.

scan0002

I just found the old fortune pictured above: “Your respect for others will be your ticket to success.” I’m pretty sure it came from one of my gab-fest, pre-matinee lunches with Poet Friend Aaron at NYC’s Yummy House in the East Village. I knew I saved it for a reason!

It made me think about a recent story in the New York TimesBacklash: Women Bullying Women at Work. The gist: Mean girls in the workplace. This is not an uncommon or untold story. In fact, we read it way too much. It doesn’t even have to be at work. It can be on the job search, too.

Some women have it all wrong. You don’t have to step on your sisters to make it up the ladder. In fact, it’s just the opposite. You’d better help give them a boost all the way to the top! Believe me, you’ll gain respect and be the kind of person that others look up to. That’s success.

I’m not going to go on and on about this and risk sounding like a cheesy gift book with pithy inspirational quotes and a rose on the front. I’m just going to say that it stops with you. We are all here to support one another and make each other great. Don’t forget it. 

 

 

Leave a Reply

