Guest Blogger: Simone Grant – Just the Kick I Needed

I was laid off a few weeks ago from a job I really didn’t want or like.  I know that in this economic climate we’re all supposed to be happy for whatever work we have.  And I was.  So happy for it that I let that happiness blind me to the truth.  Which was, that I was wasting my time there.

You see, I left my “real” job 18 months ago so that I could take on less challenging work and achieve a better work/life balance.  The hope was that I’d ultimately find a way to transition into becoming a writer.  That was the plan.  And it was a good plan.  Until I realized I’d still need to pay the bills.

So I found myself a silly little day job to pay the bills and coasted along happily, not challenging myself much. Not rocking the boat any more than I already had.  Just happy the bills were being paid and that I had a little spare time each week to write.

Clearly the universe had other plans. 

I was a wreck for about 48 hrs after I got the news.  I pretended I was fine with it, but I wasn’t.  But then I quickly got moving and started writing like a demon, sending out pitches and applying to every blogger type job I could find.. 

And now I’m freelancing.  Writing and being paid to write.  And I have a couple of really interesting creative projects that I’m working on.  Am I making as much money as I was before?  No, not even close.  But maybe I will be in a few months.   Besides, I have things that are far more valuable now.  Freedom and time and the ability to work in my pajamas and pursue my passions.  None of which would have been possible if I hadn’t gotten laid off..  Seems like a fair trade to me.

by Simone Grant
Sex, Lies and Dating in the City
http://www.sex-lies-dating.com/
http://twitter.com/SimoneGrant

One response to “Guest Blogger: Simone Grant – Just the Kick I Needed

  1. Do you mean that some blogs are written in states of undress or maybe even on the toilet?

Leave a Reply

