MPS Responds to WSJ Story: “Silencing the Voice That Says You’re a Fraud”

I totally saw myself in Melinda Beck’s article titled “Silencing the Voice That Says You’re a Fraud” on Tuesday in the Wall Street Journal‘s Health section.

Melinda’s piece discusses your harsh inner critic and how said critic can – ironically – lead many to be successful. But is also a symptom of depression, fear and anxiety. I attest this can be true.

I’m an eating disorder survivor and that inner critic kept me at it for years. At the same time, I was an honor student, class president, head cheerleader — all the annoying things you think of when you think of success (…and Tracy Flick. I know.).  It continued into my college years and even into my career.

It’s at the career point where this critic can really sabatoge you. Funny enough, some psychologists say they have patients who think their inner critic is the secret to their success.

If you’re out of work, you might be intimate friends with this bitchy inner critic. You might feel like you’ll never work again. Or that you don’t have the goods to compete out there. Believe me, I’ve done it!

When I was revamping my resume, I felt, like the piece says, a total fraud. Even though I knew I’d achieved all of what my resume said I did, having to position it in the most successful way possible made me feel like I had no business including the information at all. Like someone was going to call me out and I’d have no answers for the questions and be left there looking like an idiot. Of course, it wasn’t true. I was being ridiculous.

If you’re feeling this way and it’s hindering your job search progress or success in general, please check out Melinda’s article. She also includes a handy “How self-critical are you?” quiz. And we love quizzes!

The article does note that there are healthy and unhealthy versions of this “fraud” mentality. See my related post on “faking it ’til you make it“. I think this approach is merely pumping yourself up in a positive way:  http://tinyurl.com/n5paoj

What do you think?

http://online.wsj.com/article/SB124511712673817527.html

One response to “MPS Responds to WSJ Story: “Silencing the Voice That Says You’re a Fraud”

  1. Thank you for posting this! I would say I’m a 10 on the inner critic scale. But it’s so hard to silence that voice…

Leave a Reply

