Mindless Movie(s) Monday: “Sabrina” and “Pretty in Pink”

sabrinaWhat a double feature! I’ve already espoused my love and affection for “Pretty in Pink”…well, Steff in “Pretty in Pink”. Oh, what a smarmy hunk he is in his white linen jacket and pants, that Steff!

But, prior to the John Hughes classic airs the remake of Billy Wilder’s “Sabrina”. Starring Harrison Ford, Julia Ormond and Greg Kinnear, this charming comedy follows the Pygmalion-esque transformation of a frumpy driver’s daughter and the romantic games that ensue between two old-money, WASPy brothers for whom she longs…and for whom her father drives.

I adore this film. I adore Julia Ormond’s short, cropped curls, the touching relationship with her father and the unintentional wooing of uptight Linus Larrabee, played by Ford. I know many will disagree with me, but I prefer this version to the 1954 movie with Humphrey Bogart and William Holden. For some reason, I just didn’t buy the allure of Holden’s David Larrabee. However, Audrey Hepburn is always incomparable.

I wish I could crawl under the covers and live vicariously through these two iconic romances. I really could use the escape.

On AMC:
“Sabrina”, 10:15 a.m. ET
“Pretty in Pink”, 1:15 p.m. ET

One response to “Mindless Movie(s) Monday: “Sabrina” and “Pretty in Pink”

  1. Oh bummer! Sorry I missed both of these; they’re favorites of mine as well. Hey, did you happen to see “Grease” a couple of nights ago? I think it was on Bravo.

Leave a Reply

