Easiest Way to Jump Start Your Job Search. Period.

Alarm_clock_at_7_AM_croppedI just posted this little bit of advice on Twitter (find me @mspinkslip_blog), but thought I’d share it with all of you.

While meeting someone for breakfast this morning on the Westside of Atlanta, I realized having an early morning appointment to get up for really is the key to jump starting the day. This especially applies for those seeking work and those who are taking time to explore other avenues to earn a living.

When I was searching for jobs, I found that my most productive days were when I had someone to meet, say, at Starbucks for coffee at 8:30 a.m. or breakfast at Highland Bakery at 8:00 a.m. I had a plan; I had a commitment to be somewhere. There was no lying around in bed until 10 a.m. watching Hoda and Kathie Lee while I mentally reviewed all the thicoffeengs I had to do and people I needed to contact. Too much time and too easy to procrastinate.

Getting up and engaging in early morning conversation is a terrific way to jog your brain, raise those endorphins and give you that little push you need to get out there and make things happen.

So, if you need a quick, easy way to get going, schedule your meetings in the mornings and get started early!

5 responses to “Easiest Way to Jump Start Your Job Search. Period.

  1. What a great suggestion! I’m going to reorganize my schedule right now… No more lunches to take up half my day.

  2. I’m so glad I had a good idea! 🙂

  3. I love this idea. I wakeup early right now but I know I’m going to be laid off in a few weeks and I don’t want to loose the motivation to get out of bed and enjoy those wonderful quiet morning moments.

  4. This is a great suggestion, and one that anyone who works from home quickly learns. You’ve got to get up, get out of your pajamas and (hopefully) shower and get going. I think it also helps lend “structure” to a day, which can be so important when you’re out of work. One other suggestion: Get up early enough to exercise before your first morning meeting. You’ll be more energized and focused — and find sleeping at night will be easier. Great post.

Leave a Reply

