Can Cable TV Be My BFF? Why You Should Make Friends with Your On-Demand Provider

cable-tv-indiaI am approaching a weekend that I need to fill with some fun activity, but alas–my wallet is feeling a little light. Enter my friends at Comcast.

My cable bill isn’t cheap–but it got a bit less expensive when I removed HBO, IFC, LMN and several more of the acronymed “extras” I weeded out when I became unemployed. Even now that I’ve got a job, I haven’t added those programs back, but there are still so many pieces of added value I can enjoy compliments of my cable provider’s on-demand service. I point these out to you because there’s so much content available and many people don’t even know they have access to it. I also point it out because it’s what I’m going to be doing this weekend. Don’t tell me how pitiful I am. I already know. 🙂

  • Free movies– some classic, some straight from FX or Lifetime, some downright lame (yeah, no need to see Judge Reinhold’s masterpiece “Vice Versa”)…but they’re free!
  • Sports and fitness– yoga, pilates, strength training? It’s there! And it’s free. And there’s no thin b*tch in a class staring at your fat ass
  • Repeats of top TV series – catch up on “Mad Men”, “The Office” and many others. Some cost .99 an episode, but that’s still cheap
  • Pay-Per-View– still less expensive than going to your local theater. I haven’t seen “Confessions of a Shopaholic” yet, so I think I’m tuning in this weekend. I love Isla Fisher

If you don’t have cable, there’s always www.hulu.com!

Have you explored the wonders of cable? Am I way behind the times? What else is free and easy out there?

Leave a Reply

