What a Shock…A Good Beer Summit Can Solve Anything!

beer-ledeThe newly coined “Beer Summit” has been going on for days, months, years! Since when did it become a point of “shock and awe” that a good confab over a frosty adult beverage can soothe what ails us?

If our President is being heralded as a hero for organizing the so-called “Beer Summit”, then I’m a bonafide legend. Most of you are, too! How many unemployment happy hours or Pink Slip Parties have you been invited to since the recession turned “layoff” into a lifestyle? During my time out of work, I attended and/or organized several such gatherings. Why? Because in times of crisis, people turn to the bottle. I say that in the hopes that you don’t label me an “alcoholic” or send me AA pamphlets. It just is what it is. When you have a drink and are among friends, your nerves ease, your sadness subsides and emotional walls come tumbling down. So it’s no wonder the President employed the old “happy hour” scenario to try to create some meaningful conversation among the alleged racial profiling cop, Prof. Gates and himself. 

When I got laid off (and dumped the night before), my girls and I bonded on a sunny porch over a bottle (or three) of vino. It was certainly wine-soaked wisdom that turned my bad mood around that night. We also came up with quite a few ideas and solutions for my jobless state. Let’s face it: A pop of a cork can cause keen understanding along with wise insight to gush forth like Niagara Falls.  

So, American media, quit acting like this “Beer Summit” is such a new thing. Granted, I know we’re talking about larger, more important issues of race relations, but it’s embarrassing that y’all think it’s so cool that beer is being served on the White House lawn. In backyards and bars all across America, people have been gathering for centuries to drink a pint and toss around answers to our nation’s problems; why don’t you cover that?

Photo: Saul Loeb, AFP/Getty Images

2 responses to “What a Shock…A Good Beer Summit Can Solve Anything!

  1. I know the media OVER hyped it, but at the same time, I found it a bit refreshing. I mean, could you have pictured GW Bush having a “Beer Summit”?

  2. Well, he doesn’t drink anymore, so I guess not. 🙂

Leave a Reply

