Suing Your College Because You Can’t Find a Job? I Weep for the Future.

I cannot believe this story coming out of NYC. Well, actually I can.college

If you haven’t heard, Trina Thompson of the Bronx is an April graduate of New York’s Monroe College. She earned a bachelor of business administration degree in information technology. On July 24, Trina filed suit against the college in Bronx Supreme Court because she can’t find a job. Specifically, she’s alleging that Monroe’s “Office of Career Advancement did not help me with a full-time job placement. I am also suing them because of the stress I have been going through.”

Trina seeks $70,000 in reimbursement for her tuition and $2,000 for the stress of her three-month job search. She just doesn’t understand why no one wants to hire her when she has a 2.7 grade-point average and a solid attendance record.

Um, Trina, cry me a river. A 2.7 GPA? Perfect attendance? That is NOT setting the world on fire.

Get off your ass. The world owes you nothing, and the sooner you realize that the better. I don’t mean to be harsh–people are around to help. But you have to help yourself first. Don’t expect to be handed a job like you get a cheeseburger Happy Meal at McDonald’s.

Speaking of, I heard someone say today, “It’s like suing McDonald’s because you’re fat.” Oh, wait. I think someone’s already done that.

Now that this story has broken, I wish Trina of the Bronx much luck. She’s gonna need it.

http://www.cnn.com/2009/US/08/03/new.york.jobless.graduate/index.html

2 responses to “Suing Your College Because You Can’t Find a Job? I Weep for the Future.

  1. Ms. Trina should be ashamed of herself for wasting taxpayer time and money by filing such a ridiculous suit! Hopefully the suit will get tossed before it ever goes to trial.

  2. I’m going to be ill.

Leave a Reply

