Ex-Conde Nast Employees: MPS Is Sending You Good Job Search Karma!

gourmetIt’s no secret I’m a magazine whore. I adore the tactile experience of pulling it out of the mailbox, scanning the cover (sometimes gagging at the cover model) and crawling under my duvet to devour its contents. I love the artwork, which I don’t think can be justly reproduced online. I don’t think you can duplicate the reading experience online, either. Helloooo…I spend enough time at the computer.

So when the news came out Monday that Conde Nast was closing Gourmet, Cookie, Elegant Bride and Modern Bride, dedicated readers hit the Web to express their shock, sadness and displeasure. I mean, Gourmet has been the best friend of gastronomists for 70 years!

I’m still smarting after the closure of Domino, so afterbride thinking to myself “the bloodbath continues”, I thought of all the employees who are losing their jobs. The job market in NYC is tough enough. Hell, the market all over is still tough, especially in creative fields. So I want to send all the good karma and wishes I can your way, ex-Conde Nasters. Here’s hoping you find even better success down the road with fabulous new work! 

Mwahh!

http://money.cnn.com/2009/10/05/news/companies/gourmet_magazine/index.htm?postversion=2009100517

3 responses to “Ex-Conde Nast Employees: MPS Is Sending You Good Job Search Karma!

  1. Cookie Magazine (a parenting magazine) is also going belly up. My friend who just had twins 6 months ago was a subscriber, and she said she got the notice last week that they were folding.

  2. Oops, sorry! Read your post too fast and didn’t realize you already had Cookie listed.

  3. I’m not such a big fan of magazines but when you start thinking about how many people have lost their job, it’s really depressing!

Leave a Reply

