5 Holiday Attire Ideas Even Scrooge Will Love

Just because you’re without a job or pinching pennies doesn’t mean you have to make like a Cratchit for the holidays!

I realize I am late to the party, but I also know lots of people have holiday events this weekend and next–including MPS. I still don’t know what (to quote my mother), “I’m gonna put on this body”, but it’s got to be something cheap or something I already have in my closet. So after thumbing through my wares, I’ve come up with five easy (read: not groundbreaking) style ideas that are sure to erase the bah-humbugs and have you eager to make out under the mistletoe and go buck-wild at your office  holiday party!

  1. Glam up a simple outfit with a silver or gold skinny belt. J.Crew has some sassy metallics for little $$$.
  2. Buy some inexpensive costume jewelry to bring back to life that little black dress or silky top you’ve been wearing to death. Was floored by the fun selection I saw the other day at Old Navy. Granted, these baubles may not last forever, but at least they’ll add a lil’ bling for the night.
  3. Don’t forget that jeans are okay. Last year, I wore dark jeans with a cropped green velvet Mandarin collar jacket bought years ago at Loehmann’s. I added some cute earrings, black heels, and it looked adorable. http://youlookfab.com/2008/12/04/casual-holiday-parties-on-a-budget-glam-up-your-jeans/
  4. Target. Target. Target. Their Limited Edition line is bursting at the seams with cuteness.
  5. Borrow from a friend. Act like you’re living back in the dorm or the sorority house. There’s nowhere better to shop than your BFF’s closet. Just be kind and dry clean before returning. 

Happy holidays!

Leave a Reply

