Happy New Year! Miss Pink Slip is Refreshing Her Perspective for 2010

Yes, I’m aware that it’s January 25. I’m also aware that I’ve already slacked on one of my biggest New Year’s Resolutions: Blog more.

So here I am. Did you miss me? That’s a rhetorical question, by the way.  🙂

Over the holiday, I began wavering over whether I would continue Miss Pink Slip. I’ve been gainfully employed since March 2009 (by the grace of God!), and I just wasn’t sure how relevant my voice was to the unemployed/ recessionally challenged population.

But recently, after a bottle of Pinot Noir and a conversation with my UPiC (Unemployed Partner in Crime), I realized that we are all still feeling the stings of joblessness, fear and anxiety. Even a year after the hoopla surrounding unemployment seemed to die down a bit. My friend is still looking for full-time employment as are the many women she’s encountering every day. They’re still out there in droves, and they still need our support. So that’s the angle I’m taking with Miss Pink Slip in 2010: Support. I’m not collecting unemployment, but I know how it feels and I’m among many incredible women who are sure to land on their feet this year. And I want to be there when they do!

7 responses to “Happy New Year! Miss Pink Slip is Refreshing Her Perspective for 2010

  1. MPS – I’ve surely missed you! I kept checking here to see your commentary on Conan’s handling of his job loss…. And I have two friends struggling with job issues, so I certainly look forward to your 2010 angle. Nice to have you back.

  2. MPS – I am so glad you’re back! And I’m glad you are gainfully employed. I lost my job in April 2009 and have been working a temporary job since July – I still consider myself unemployed until I land a permanent position. I look forward to reading what you have to say on the unemployment situation – especially since you were there once. I love reading your tips. Keep up the good work. Maybe your UPiC can post suggestions or ideas. Perhaps you can review new job hunting books or something. Or post stories of how people are landing jobs or how they made their situation work.

    • Joanna,

      You’re reading my mind and have helped reinvigorate me with your words. Thank you for your ideas! I’ll have to tap UPiC very soon. Good luck and email if you ever need to vent!

      xo MPS

  3. Glad you are back! And congrats with the job! I definitely love reading your blog so I’m glad you are sticking around!

    • I’m so glad, Jamie! Would love to hear about your experience soon and please let me know if you need anything!

      • Thanks! I guess I’m not TECHNICALLY considered unemployed. I didn’t get laid off. I took a job at a retail store when I got out of college until I could find something. That was a year ago. I quit the job a few months ago because I loathed it and it wasn’t helping me at all to reach my career goals. I wasn’t even learning anything. I need to be challenged or I go crazy! I figured I’d rather be broke, happy, and finding things to do until I land a job than as miserable as I was there. 🙂

        I added you to my blog list. Just so you know! 🙂

Leave a Reply

